Sports news | “Iss Bar Hum Pressure Lenge Nahi, Denge: Virender Sehwag backs India to continue World Cup trend

New Delhi [India]Sep 7 (ANI): Former India opener Virender Sehwag has backed the Men in Blue to lift the World Cup, ensuring the host team’s trend of lifting the title continues.

In three ODI World Cups in the last 12 years, the host nation has won the title. It was India who started this trend after winning the 2011 World Cup.

Also read | Viacom18 to be official media partner of ISL Until 2025, FSDL heralds sports network as ‘new home of Indian football’.

MS captain Dhoni and his men lifted the world crown by defeating Sri Lanka in the final.

Four years later, Australia, who were the host countries of the tournament, continued to defy the odds to win the title.

Also read | ‘If you like me you don’t have to hate Messi’ Cristiano Ronaldo reflects on his rivalry with the Argentina star ahead of Portugal’s UEFA Euro 2024 qualifiers.

In 2019, England overcame New Zealand in a thrilling final to claim the World Cup on home soil.

To former India all-rounder Yuvraj Singh’s post on whether the current team has what it takes to thrive under the pressure of expectations and lift the world title, Sehwag replied in his signature style, “@YUVSTRONG12 ayi baat pressure ki, toh iss bar hum pressure lenge nahi, dengue! Like champions! Peechle 12 saal mein, world cup host team jeeti hain! 2011 – We won at home 2015 – Australia won in Australia 2019 – England won in England 2023 – Hum Toofan Machayenge.”

India announced their World Cup squad earlier this month, featuring all the usual suspects and missing rising batsman Tilak Varma and speedster Prasidh Krishna.

India will field four spinners – Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami and Mohammed Siraj, while the spinners will be Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav.

Rahul, who injured his thigh earlier in the year during the IPL, has been training at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru and is likely to join his India teammates in the later stages of the Asia Cup in Sri Lanka.

Sanju Samson was also left out of the team along with Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna with Rahul.

Captain Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian batting order along with Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav with Ishan Kishan providing another wicket keeping option. All-rounders Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur were also named, clearly aiming to increase the batting depth.

JBumrah shows no signs of injury after his return and will lead the bowling attack with Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj. Kuldeep Yadav is the side’s leading spin option. (NOT EVEN)

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from the Syndicated News feed. Most recent staff did not need to edit or edit the body of the content)

Ferdinand Medina

"Internet evangelist. Twitter fanatic. Hardcore entrepreneur. Incurable analyst. Extreme food junkie. Unapologetic tv maven. Reader."