Sports news | MCA to auction two seats at Wankhede Stadium where Dhoni’s World Cup-winning six landed

Mumbai (Maharashtra) [India]Sep 14 (ANI): The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) is set to auction the two seats where the ball landed at the Wankhede Stadium after MS Dhoni’s 2011 World Cup hit, claiming six seats to clinch the title.

Ahead of the upcoming ODI World Cup to be played in India, MCA will auction two seats and the funds raised from this auction will be used to provide scholarships to budding players.

Also read | Lamine Yamal Eyes first goal in Barcelona v Real Betis La Liga 2023-24 after impressive Spanish debut in Euro Qualifiers.

Dhoni’s six in the 49th over crowned India as World Cup champions for only the second time in history. The shot was a reflection of a successful domestic campaign and was marked by Ravi Shastri’s significant words on commentary that echoed around the stadium: “Dhoni finishes in style. A beautiful shot into the crowd! India lift the World Cup for 28 years and the party starts in the dressing room.”

India will look to repeat the success of the 2011 World Cup on home soil as the mega tournament kicks off on October 5 when 2019 finalists England and New Zealand meet at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, with the event culminating in the final at the same venue on November 19 .

Also read | Legendary manager Arsene Wenger will visit India in October.

India will start their campaign against Australia in Chennai on October 8.

Ten teams will feature in the biggest Cricket World Cup of all time, which will be played across 10 venues.

The event will feature 48 matches over 46 days.

Other places besides Ahmedabad and Chennai are Bengaluru, Delhi, Dharamsala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai and Pune. While Guwahati and Thiruvananthapuram will join Hyderabad in hosting practice games.

Eight teams qualified for the 46-day event through the Cricket World Cup Super League, while the final two spots were decided in the ICC Cricket World Cup qualifiers held in Zimbabwe. Sri Lanka and the Netherlands occupied the last two places in the tournament.

The top four teams will qualify for the semi-finals, which will be played in Mumbai on November 15 and Kolkata on November 16. The final will be in Ahmedabad. Semi-finals and finals will have reserve days.

India’s World Cup squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav , Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj. (NOT EVEN)

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from the Syndicated News feed. Most recent staff did not need to edit or edit the body of the content)

Ferdinand Medina

"Internet evangelist. Twitter fanatic. Hardcore entrepreneur. Incurable analyst. Extreme food junkie. Unapologetic tv maven. Reader."